Working together for a green Europe

Link: /

The EEA Grants represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway towards a green, competitive and inclusive Europe. There are two overall objectives: reduction of economic and social disparities in Europe, and to strengthen bilateral relations between the donor countries and 15 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics.

The three donor countries cooperate closely with the EU through the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA). The donors have provided €3.3 billion through consecutive grant schemes between 1994 and 2014. For the period 2014-2021, the EEA Grants amount to €1.55 billion.

The priorities for this period are:

#1 Innovation, Research, Education and   Competitiveness 

#2 Social Inclusion, Youth Employment and Poverty Reduction 

#3 Environment, Energy, Climate Change and   Low Carbon Economy 

#4 Culture, Civil Society, Good Governance and Fundamental Rights

#5 Justice and Home Affairs 

The EEA Grants are jointly financed by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, whose contributions are based on their GDP. Eligibility for the Grants mirror the criteria set for the EU Cohesion Fund aimed at member countries where the Gross National Income (GNI) per inhabitant is less than 90% of the EU average.


Get in Touch

University of Silesia in Katowice
Faculty of Natural Sciences
Institute of Biology, Biotechnology and Environmental Protection
Jagiellońska 28, 40-032 Katowice

Katarzyna Bzdęga PhD
Project coordinator
Phone +48 322009448
e-mail of the project: